infoInfo miscellaneous_servicesAmenities photo_cameraPhotos placeLocation rate_reviewReviews eventBook

Breakwater 102 - Shoal Bay

apartmentApartment
placeShoal Bay, NSW

groups Max Occupancy: 6
hotelhotel Bedrooms: 2
bathtub
bathtub Bathrooms: 2
directions_car
directions_car Garages: 2
schedule Check-in Time: 2:00pm
schedule
schedule Check-out Time: 10:00am

Stunning apartment with water views and a pool!

The Location - Set within an exclusive resort complex, ‘The Ramada’ with lift access, this extra-large apartment represents the ultimate Shoal Bay getaway and only 100m to Shoal Bay Beach this one is ideal for your next family holiday. Enjoy an afternoon drink or breakfast at Shoal Bay Country Club, hire SUP’s, go parasailing over Shoal Bay Beach, walk up Tomaree Mountain or take in the afternoon with fish and chips on the beach, the activities in this location are endless, and there is plenty for the whole family to enjoy. Walking distance to everything Shoal Bay has to offer, and only 3.5km drive to Nelson Bay CBD where you can find cinemas, a large variety of cafés, restaurants and Woolworths.

The Apartment - The generous home-like layout offers free WIFI, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, two car spaces and an open plan living and dining area surrounded by glass sliding doors. The modern and fully-equipped kitchen has everything you could need to cook in the apartment and enjoy out on the huge balcony area with a six seater outside table setting, as well as a hammock to relax in and beautiful outdoor lounges.

Enjoy the spacious open plan living area with a six seater dining table, together with two lounges seating  up to seven people to watch TV or use the DVD player. The spacious open plan living and dining area has plenty of natural light and views of the ocean. There is a six seater dining table and lounge as well as a Samsung TV and DVD player.

The master suite has a king bed with balcony access, ensuite with spa bath and a built-in robe, with the second bedroom featuring two single beds, balcony access. The main bathroom has a shower with separate bath, vanity and toilet. 

The apartment also features a day bed and trundle in the living area allowing for two additional guests to come and stay. The communal recreation room which offers a big TV and pool table are exclusively for guests staying in the Breakwater Apartments. There is also an internal laundry with washing machine and dryer. There are definitely smoke alarms at this property.

Linen packs are linen is provided for this property. If you would like bed makes please contact the office.

NOTE: While there is an air conditioning unit onsite, it is NOT advertised with this property, as it is broken. There are fans installed and the sea breeze, which helps with airflow.

Apartment Features

countertops
Kitchen
pool
Pool
local_laundry_service
Washer / Dryer
smoke_free
Non-Smoking
pets
No Pets

Rooms

Two bedroom, two bathroom apartment. Accommodates: 6 (bedroom one: king bed, bedroom two: two single beds, plus a day bed and trundle bed in the living area). Access to the resort facilities and across the road from Shoal Bay Beach.

  • 1 x King Bed king_bed
  • 2 x Twin Beds single_bedsingle_bed
  • 1 x Sofa Bed Bed weekend
  • 1 x Other Bed hotel

Amenities

king_bedAmenity

  • Jetted Tub
  • Shower
  • Toilet
  • Tub

tvEntertainment

  • Television

domainGeneral

  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

placeLocation

  • Water View

poolPool Spa

  • Communal Pool

groupsSuitability

  • Non Smoking Only

local_diningDining

  • Dining Room

countertopsKitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Full Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Oven
  • Crockery & Cutlery

weekendLiving

  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ensuite
  • Lift
  • Towels Provided-not Beach Towels

deckOutdoor

  • Balcony
  • Shared Pool
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Covered Area

Photo Gallery

photo_cameraBrowse Full Gallery

Location

102/2 Messines Street, Shoal Bay, NSW 2315

Request to Book

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT

ADULT
CHILD


local_offer Rates from : $300 / night

 

Availability Calendar

May 2021

arrow_left
M T W T F S S
          1
close
2
close
3
close
4
close
5
close
6
close
7
close
8
close
9
close
10
close
11
close
12
close
13
close
14
close
15
close
16
close
17
close
18
close
19
2+
nights_stay
20
2+
nights_stay
21
2+
nights_stay
22
close
23
close
24
close
25
close
26
close
27
close
28
close
29
2+
nights_stay
30
2+
nights_stay
31
2+
nights_stay
           

Payment Methods

VisaMastercard

Average Rating

starstarstarstar_half3.6

mood
Overall Satisfaction
3.3 / 5
weekend
Comfort
4 / 5
construction
Property Condition
3 / 5
place
Location
4.3 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
3.7 / 5
local_offer
Value
2 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
4 / 5

rate_review Show Reviewsexpand_more

Very good

Booked fairly late for school-holidays, very helpful consultant (Gina) helped to find right property which proved to be excellent.
Reviewed by Guest from Killara, NSW, Australia on Fri 23rd Apr 2021
checkRecommend to Others

mood
Overall Satisfaction
5 / 5
construction
Property Condition
5 / 5
place
Location
5 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
5 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
4 / 5

Unacceptable - broken air conditioning

The accomodation had a number of faults and was not worth what we paid. Most important the airconditioning did not work and had a sign on the control panel when we arrived saying “ sorry it’s not working”. This is unacceptable for a summer rental in January. The washing machine stalls half way and you have to manually click the dial to the next cycle to enable it to fully complete the cycle. The blind in the main bedroom was broken and lying in the floor when we arrived.
In my experience this was poorly managed. We contacted Winnings twice and they never came
Back to us after saying they would get in touch with the owner.
The biggest issue was the non working Aircondioner.
I believe the owners were aware of this and still took our money.
I would never have booked this accomodation if I had known the air con was not working.
Not acceptable.
Reviewed by Guest from Australia on Mon 11th Jan 2021

mood
Overall Satisfaction
2 / 5
construction
Property Condition
1 / 5
place
Location
4 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
3 / 5
supervisor_account
Services from Rental Manager
4 / 5

Hi Katrina, We are sorry to hear the accommodation wasn't up to standards for your stay. We have noted on the property listing, "While there is an air conditioning unit onsite, it is NOT advertised with this property, as it is broken" as the owner does not want to fix it. We cannot force our owners to fix items like this in the house and that's why we don't advertise it. However, we have a number of properties that do have air con and is a searchable function on our website if you do choose to stay with us again.
Response from Winning Holidays on Tue 26th Jan 2021

Unit needs maintenance carried out

3 very windy nights - we had to sleep on lounge room floor due to noise from windows and door in main bedroom.
Very bad smell coming from en-suite bathroom - I think from floor wastes .
Air conditioning out of order .
Reviewed by Andrew F. from Merewether, Australia on Mon 9th Nov 2020

mood
Overall Satisfaction
2 / 5
construction
Property Condition
1 / 5
place
Location
4 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
3 / 5

Lovely apartment, perfect location

The apartment was spacious and comfortable, a short walk to the beach and shops. Will stay again!
Reviewed by Jessica M. on Tue 20th Oct 2020
checkRecommend to Others

mood
Overall Satisfaction
5 / 5
construction
Property Condition
4 / 5
place
Location
5 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
5 / 5

Spring in Shoal Bay

We had a great stay at Breakwater 102. The apartment was large and clean with a great terrace and views. There were some nice extras such as games for the kids and books/DVDs.
The pool area was great and we were able to use the Ramada outdoor and indoor pool as well.
A BBQ would have been perfect, especially with such a large terrace.
Overall, had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend/stay again.
Reviewed by Francesca A. from Darlinghurst, Australia on Mon 12th Oct 2020
checkRecommend to Others

mood
Overall Satisfaction
5 / 5
construction
Property Condition
4 / 5
place
Location
4 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
5 / 5

Hi Francesca, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Winning holidays and provide meaningful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Response from Winning Holidays on Wed 14th Oct 2020

Bad organisation

I have booked the accommodation online Due to my error I have deleted the confirmation email I have had phoned and explained my issue have been advised not to worry as I will receive instruction email prior to my arrival I was supposed to check in on Thursday evening I phoned on Thursday to say that I have not received my email and to advise that I will be arriving late as I was driving from Sydney, and should be arriving around 9pm At that stage I was re assured that I should be able to phone security as he is driving around till midnight. Apparently he will drop the keys then and there I arrived at Nelson Bay at 9:15pm kept on phoning the security. Unfortunately my phone calls were unanswered. Finally at 10pm I decided to phone the emergency number that was displayed. Then then got in touch with manager who was apologetic and was going to give us the key. She then realised that my key was missing and that it was accidentally given to wrong couple Poor couple that had checked in before me Property manager phoned them and the men that answered the phone sounded very distressed as he has been waiting in his car for over 4 hours waiting on the security guard to answer his phone calls Within ten minutes they came to the real estate and exchanged the keys We finally got to the apartment at 10:30 pm to realise that the key and room number was different At that stage no one was answering the phone Thanks God, Ramada receptionist was kind enough to locate our apartment Upon us entering the apartment we had located a big sign on the aircon that it was not working Just to mention for the last 15 yrs I have been using Pr national under the old management and had never experienced anything like this The apartment as apartment was in good condition just dusty You could write on bed side tables The following morning I have received a phone call where the management was offering me a late check out. Which at that stage could not accept. When I mentioned that the aircon or fans wore not working I was shut down that the add did not mention that they will supply the two. Just appalling.
Reviewed by Mona on Thu 11th Jul 2019

mood
Overall Satisfaction
1 / 5
weekend
Comfort
4 / 5
place
Location
4 / 5
cleaning_services
Cleanliness
1 / 5
local_offer
Value
2 / 5

Cancellation Policy

Please click "Read More" to view our Cancellation Policy:


If you cancel your accommodation the following applies -

1. Bookings cancelled at least 90 days prior to “Guest” arrival date is refundable less a cancellation fee of $100.00.

2. Booking cancelled less than 90 days from “Guest” arrival date are non refundable but the following does apply –

i) if any guest has booked direct with Alloggio Holidays, and request a refund for a booking arrival date inside 90 days, we do not refund but can transfer booking dates or if guests are uncertain of dates we will provide them with an Alloggio Holiday gift voucher to the value of their “Rent” component of the booking.

ii) our fees will be retained however when the guest does utilise the gift voucher the value of rent will be towards whatever the cost of their new booking value is. There will be no booking fees charged on gift voucher bookings as we have already retained the fees.

iii) The voucher will be valid for booking stay dates within three years from date of issue and may be used on any of our Holiday Properties depending on availability.

3. If you shorten your stay, the unused portion of your rental is not refundable.

4. Any Bookings made via an OTA, for example, Stayz, , Airbnb or other booking provider will be subject to the OTA Terms and Conditions.If you cancel any booking made through Stayz, , Airbnb or other booking provider you may be required to pay further fees to those providers pursuant to their cancellation policy.

5. Any costs imposed by any other provider are in addition to any costs imposed by Alloggio Management.


policy Read Moreexpand_more

Port Stephens Holiday Accommodation, Holiday Homes and Apartments for your next holiday to Port Stephens, New South Wales.
Shoal Bay Holiday Accommodation, Holiday Homes and Apartments for your next holiday to Shoal Bay, Port Stephens.
Winning Holidays for short and long stays, couples and extended families.
Terms & Conditions for Winning Holidays.
Contact our Reservations and Guest Care Team Today!
BOOK YOUR HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION TODAY!